Board of Trustees

Sarah Gassaway, Chair 

Elected 2009. First female Chair of the Woodfin Sanitary Water and Sewer District Board of Trustees in its history. Retired from the Buncombe County School System after 31 years as Head Secretary/Treasurer at Woodfin Elementary School. Recently completed a three-month interim position as Cost Clerk in the Transportation Department of Buncombe County Schools. Briefly served on the Town of Woodfin's Zoning Board. A lifelong resident of Woodfin, married to Reverend Jack R. Gassaway, Pastor of Richland Baptist Church. Resides at 118 Jonestown Road, Woodfin.


Ivo Ballentine, Vice-Chair

Elected 2015. Resides at 94 Walnut Lane, Woodfin. 

Don Haynes, Secretary

Appointed by the Buncombe County Commission, 2015, elected to full term in 2015. Resides at 670 Lakeshore Drive, Asheville. A native of Asheville who attended Lee H. Edwards High School, he graduated from Western Carolina University with a degree in business and history. Retired as Vice President of Tom Berlin Insurance Agency in 2000. Married 53 years to Nancy Bell, with 2 daughters, and has served as a vice president of the Asheville Insurance Exchange and as president of the Asheville Optimist Club and the WCU Catamount club.